Leamington was settled in 1871 by a small group of people that came from Oak City to acquire farm ground. It was one of the few communities not au­thorized by the Mormon Church. The first permanent homes were built in 1873. The town was named by Frank Young, who was a nephew of Brigham Young and among the first settlers. He selected the name from Leamington, England.

 

One of the first projects in settling the town was to build ditches to irrigate the ground. The water was taken from the Sevier River. Several attempts to dam the river failed. As a result, the settlers had to remove water several miles upstream. This meant digging ditches several miles further than anticipated. Most of the settlers were farm­ers, but by 1879 the railroad came through town, which provided employment for some people. Two stores and a hotel were built, as well as a church and a school.

 

The current population of Leamington is approximately 200, many of which are descendants of some of the first settlers.

 

East of Leamington on Highway 132 is the remains of two charcoal kilns. Because of the railroad, one of the first industries in the area was the processing of cedar into charcoal for shipping to Salt Lake City.

 

Lat: 39.534911          Long: -112.282891